The post that nearly didn’t happen: Kale and Hearty

 

skchips

So believe it or not, we have never tasted kale chips. I know, right? If anyone had mentioned that these good-for-you morsels are light and airy, but crisp and dissolve on your tongue, perhaps I would have been rushing to try them before this.

We like kale, it’s okay in salads and noodle dishes and stuff like that, but we recently discovered that just ONE serving of kale in an entire MONTH can actually reduce the chance of developing Glaucoma by 69%! That is HUGE! My husband’s parents both have, and are being treated for Glaucoma, so it is of concern to us that he might be on that path as well.

That’s not going to happen now!

I decided to finally bite the bullet and make my own kale chips. I looked up a few recipes and then came up with this one of my own:

Kat’s Kale Chips

Wash and dry a bunch of kale and then tear into bite-size pieces. (I used my salad-spinner which worked beautifully.) Toss with the following:

1 Tbsp. extra virgin olive oil
1/2 – 1 tsp. smoked paprika
1 tsp. maple syrup
sprinkling of Himalayan salt

Spread out the kale pieces on parchment-lined baking sheets and bake in a 350 degree oven for about 7 minutes or until the kale is crispy, but not burnt.

Remove from oven – they cool very quickly — and enjoy! They will keep in an air-tight container for a week, but I really don’t see the point in giving you this info because, if you’re like me, they won’t last 10 minutes!

This post almost didn’t happen because I nearly ate all the chips that were in the photo. I did manage to store some in a zip bag for my husband when he gets home from work, but he better not be late!

Being Vegan gets better every day!

2 thoughts on “The post that nearly didn’t happen: Kale and Hearty

Leave a Reply

