Speedy Macaroni and Cheeezzz

mcmac

 

I’m still sick, and last night my husband got home a bit late from work. I hadn’t even started dinner at 7:00 p.m., so I needed something fast and easy, but still yummy and worth-coming-home-to.  What’s going to fit that bill better than macaroni and cheez? Nothing, right?

I hunted through my pasta drawer and came up with some great Italian-made penne.  I put some water on to boil, washed a few grape tomatoes and sliced them up, and pulled some cheezy ingredients out of my fridge and pantry.

I boiled up the pasta; drained it, reserving a bit of liquid and tossed in the tomatoes to heat up.  Then I dropped in some shredded Daiya cheddar, tore up a slice of Daiya cheddar rounds, and dumped in a mixture of about 1/4 cup spelt breadcrumbs, 1 heaping Tbsp. of nutritional yeast and about 1/2 tsp. each, dried basil, dried parsley and red chili pepper flakes, and some freshly ground black pepper.  I then added 1 spoonful of sriracha sauce, the reserved pasta water and stirred it all up over low heat.

It was just enough for two good-sized bowls and along with some carbonated water to drink, it made for the perfect cozy-comfort, welcome-home meal.

You will not miss the “real” stuff, I guarantee it.

5 thoughts on “Speedy Macaroni and Cheeezzz

  1. Hey, wish you to get healthy again! My advices: Garlic, ginger, hot soups with lots of Chili, miso-soups, warm beer, lots of tea, cleaning the nose with salt-water (not really cleaning, more like flushing, I don´t know in English), rosemary…
    But your pasta looks tasty! Sometimes we need stuff like this 🙂

Leave a Reply

