Too-nah Melt

toonah1

I didn’t want to waste an extra Daiya slice, so I broke up the 3/4 piece that was in the package. It ain’t pretty, but it’s pretty darned good!

I have been meaning to try the alternative mixtures to tuna for some time now.  I have to admit, in my day, I sure did love a good tuna melt, and it was not that long ago that I was still buying wild-caught tuna, salmon and sardines.  All that has changed now, so I’m looking for a solution and as usual, I found one, on Pinterest.

I bought a really good tin of Eden Organic chick peas the other day, and was anxious to try the “tuna” recipe today.  Unfortunately, I had forgotten that I threw out my dried dill not too long ago, expecting that I would replace it with some organic stuff, but I haven’t done that yet.  I had to use my Bragg’s herb mix which had a bit of dill seed in it, but it wasn’t ideal.  I also had some roasted seaweed sheets way at the back of my fridge, unopened from back in January.  I had no idea what to do with them and had forgotten about them, but I knew that nori crumbled would create a little bit of briny flavour.

In the end, I conjured up this mixture:

Too-nah Melt

1 can chick peas, mashed with a potato masher
1 tsp. Bragg’s herb mix
1 tsp. dried parsley
1 tsp. dried basil
freshly ground black pepper
1/2 tsp. Himalayan salt
1/2 tsp. grain mustard
2 Tbsp. lemon juice
2 Tbsp. Vegenaise
1 Tbsp. green relish (please tell me that is vegan)

2 slices of Silver Hills “Steady Eddie” sprouted grain bread
2 tsp. Earth Balance spread
1 slice “Go Veggie”
1 slice Daiya “Cheddar”

Mash the chickpeas and add all the rest of the ingredients. Stir to blend. Spread the bread with Earth Balance. Mound the chick-pea too-nah on top and spread out. Place cheez slices on top and bake in a 400 degree oven for a few minutes until the cheez melts.

Next time, I’ll add chopped celery and minced onion and of course, the dried dill (or even fresh, if I can get organic), but all in all, it was a good attempt and most importantly, it was delicious! Lots of the mixture left for more sandwiches too.

Try it out, and let me know what you think.

2 thoughts on “Too-nah Melt

  1. Great idea about the nori. I’ll bet it added a fishy flavour. I tried a vegan fish steak a while back and it came wrapped in a thin strip of nori…it was almost creepy how it tasted just like the real thing!

Leave a Reply

