I’ll stop the world,

meltyz

 

My husband is working a later shift all this week, so he isn’t getting home until around 6:30.  We always like to have our meals together, so I wait for him to come home before I do the supper.  Last night, by 6:15, I still hadn’t come up with an idea, but when I went to my kitchen, opened up my pantry and had a look around, I noticed some Pacific organic Refried Black Beans in the tetra pack that I had bought a couple of weeks ago at the Stone Store.  The wheels started spinning in my head, and I knew what I was going to make.  It was quick, nutritious, delicious, satisfying and all ready to go by the time he got home.

I heated up the beans in a pot on the stove and added some lime juice,  a bunch of cilantro, chopped, a spoonful of red chili sauce, some jalapeno pepper sauce, 1/2 an avocado, diced, 1 sliced green onion and 4 cocktail tomatoes cut in 16ths.  I stirred that all together, added some freshly ground black pepper and then mounded it on the halves of two Silver Hills “Squirrely” sprouted grain bagels, topped with Daiya cheddar cheeze slices and popped them in a 400° oven until the edges of the bagel were crispy and the cheeze nice and melty.

This is a definite keeper for those later suppers.  Also excellent for lunch, as I am doing today with the leftovers. Yum. Thank you DAIYA, you rock!

Leave a Reply

