Pineapple, upside-down (no cake)

pina

 

I bought a gorgeous organic pineapple a couple of weeks ago.  I’ve always found the cutting up of this fruit to be a bit of a challenge, so I figured I’d look at some YouTube videos to assist me.  I had heard that if you could pull the spiny leaves out with your hand then it was meant to be ripe. When I watched the video, it said you should be able to smell the pineapple if you put your face up to it.  I did this, and I couldn’t. You also should see a nice golden colour on the outside. Again, I could not.

In one video, it said to put your pineapple in the fridge upside-down for about 30 minutes before cutting it to allow all the natural sugars to disperse rather than collect at the bottom. Well, since mine was definitely not ripe, I left it out for a while (for that, read, a week) in a bowl on my buffet and kind of forgot about it.  You could say it must have been REALLY unripe because after a week it was still not smelling very much like a nice pineapple.

I decided to pop it in the fridge, upside-down. I put it in the side-door where I keep cartons of soy and almond milk and bottles of carbonated water, and left it again, for another week. Crazy, eh?

Well, yesterday I finally got out my big knife and set to work on the pineapple and you know what? It was perfect! It carved up beautifully and I have a nice container of pineapple chunks ready for fruit salad, or a smoothie, or putting into a savoury dish for some juice and sweetness. Or even just for snacking.

Alo-HA!

4 thoughts on “Pineapple, upside-down (no cake)

Leave a Reply

