The Crust of the Matter

pizzapie

 

Technically, I am on vacation.  My mother, who lives with my husband and me, is on a trip back to her home-town in eastern Canada.  My husband is on holidays and today is our wedding anniversary.  Nonetheless, I want to share a little post with you.

On Father’s Day, we went to connect with my husband’s family in the town where my sister-in-law resides.  I had done some research to see if I could find a place where at least some vegan food might be available.  I came up with a restaurant called, The Brewery Bay Company.  They actually had chicken-substitutes on their menu, so I figured that would work well for all of us.

When we got to the restaurant, I was struggling to read the menu because I didn’t bring the right glasses. I should have had my bi-focals on, but I had erred in favour of my prettier frames which were only for distance. Dumb move.  I finally managed to read the menu by putting it right up to my face. You know how you like to peruse a menu at length and see what your choices are and then make a selection? That’s hard to do when you can only see one thing at a time, so when it came time to order, I kind of flew by the seat of my pants.

I ordered a build your own pizza. The waitress said they could use the substitute chicken on the pizza, so I went for it.  My husband got the veggie burger (bo-ring!) and this is what I rattled off to the waitress:

Chick-n
red onion
pineapple
eggplant
portobello mushrooms
NO cheese
tomato sauce

One thing is for certain, they’ve never seen that combination before, and likely, they never will again!

Oh, and the “crust” issue? I have no idea what was in it. I just hope against hope that it was vegan.

4 thoughts on “The Crust of the Matter

  1. I think that you’re safe with pizza crust. I’ve never seen a pizza crust with dairy products in it, unless it’s one of those crusts stuffed with cheese! 😛 The pizza looks really good! When I first went vegan, I hesitated to order pizza without cheese. It just didn’t sound good! But now I order it frequently! A pizza with lots of veggies and tomato sauce is really quite yummy! 🙂

  2. Oh, I can relate to the glasses issue! We always take a chance when eating out. In our southern U.S. “neck of the woods”, we have very few choices. The pizza looks good, (love that you included pineapple), hope you enjoyed! I’ll be making a pizza at home this weekend. I’ve found a crust recipe and tomato sauce recipe that are my “go to” resources when those pizza cravings hit! Have fun on your technical vacation 🙂 ~ Sharly

  3. The crust thing… I think one inevitably has these experiences now and again. I must have eaten a chip fried in the wrong sort of fat or a scone with something sinister in it at sometime.

Leave a Reply

